Elizabeth Clare Prophet, RIP

I only just found out that Elizabeth Clare Prophet recently died. For those who don’t know her work, have a look at the link. Basically she led the Summit Lighthouse, an amazing, er … group .. religion… cult… depending on your point of view. Her work was guided by her connection with the Masters and she regularly made predictions based on what she received. I mean real, shared space-time predictions. A most unwise thing to do. Never trust the Inner Contacts on Outer stuff without a lot of reason and backed up signs. Dion Fortune used to demand at least two independent, objective signs.

Anyway, Ms Prophet predicted a nuclear war way back in 1991 or 1990 or thereabouts. I remember it well (the prediction, not the war 🙂 ). She and hundreds of her followers went down into specially built fall-out shelters at the appointed time. And nothing happened. Zippo. Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I could recover from such a balls-up. I’d be too much in cognitive dissonance to continue. Let alone embarrassment. These people believed completely. There was no doubt in their minds. Or their bank accounts, which were much smaller to pay for the shelter.

Yet Ms Prophet strolled out of the fall-out shelter happily announcing a reprieve for humanity and continued leading her group for several more years, making more predictions and what all. Now that takes guts. Or something.

I read a lot of the Summit Lighthouse stuff when I was a young lad and while it never sang to me it obviously had something behind it all. I think the world will be a little poorer without Ms Prophet, no matter how barking mad she may have been at times. I hope her Masters are holding her in the Light. 🙂

3 comments

  1. Steven Maimes · November 2, 2009

    Thanks for sharing this news — the story was not widely reported. I always thought she was interesting. In recent memory, she represented a powerful spiritual woman… I am not saying I agree with her teachings… just, she was interesting….

  2. madstone · November 2, 2009

    Hi,

    I was also unaaware of this – and you reflect my sentiments in EVERY sentence. I could say no more. I like you blog, and have been visiting for about a month. If you ever do a blogroll, let’s swap links.

    LVX

    madstone

  3. Doris Tracey · November 10, 2009

    I was a part of the shelter cycle and we were never told it would be the end of the world, but to prepare as if it was going to be the end of civilization as we now know it. Prophecy’s are not set in stone and can be mitigated by being prepared physically and spiritually. Mother Mary said, the spiritual and physical preparations were enough to stop it.

Leave a Reply

